Immortality

Sunday is once again upon us and I feel moved to contemplate one of the most discussed and often controversial aspects of religion, Immortality.  When you break it down, it’s really the fuel that fires the teachings of almost every belief system ever known to mankind.  The notion that we can exist in some form or fashion, beyond that of our physical earthly bonds is appealing, to say the least.

Alas, until that time comes, when all questions shall be answered, it is important to find meaning in what we are capable of experiencing in the here and now.  Words are a haven for understanding and enlightenment.  I find the majority of words written and sung by this person to be quite enlightening and equally visually pleasing.Heck, I’d set up a 501c3 dedicated entirely to this guy and his band in a heartbeat!From Pearl Jam’s 1994 album Vitalogy:

Immortality

Vacate is the word…vengeance has no place on me or her
Cannot find the comfort in this world
Artificial tear…vessel stabbed…next up, volunteers
Vulnerable, wisdom can’t adhere…
A truant finds home…and a wish to hold on…
But there’s a trapdoor in the sun…

Immortality…

As privileged as a whore…victims in demand for public show
Swept out through the cracks beneath the door
Holier than thou, how?
Surrendered…executed anyhow
Scrawl dissolved, cigar box on the floor…
A truant finds home…and a wish to hold on too…
He saw the trapdoor in the sun…

I cannot stop the thought…I’m running in the dark…
Coming up a which way sign…all good truants must decide…
Oh, stripped and sold, mom…auctioned forearm…
And whiskers in the sink…
Truants move on…cannot stay long
Some die just to live…

Listen to the voice and wisdom of the angels here:

http://www.myspace.com/tenclub/music/songs/immortality-28425629

Disclaimer:  While I am still mesmerized with depth of intricacies and meaning Pearl Jam brings to their lyrics and music , I am in no way condoning, nor do I intend to establish a facility of worship dedicated to any single member or the band as a whole.  This post was not meant to be blasphemous in nature, as I do have my own faith in the existence of a higher power.  Peace 🙂  But, dang, isn’t Eddie hot!

 

 

 

Oh, the twisted thoughts that spin round my head. Please share yours!